top of page

PCOS Awareness - First Post


I want to dedicate a page of my blog to PCOS - a medical condition that affects up to 10 percent of women, me being one of them.

In this post I first briefly describe the syndrome and talk about my personal journey and living with PCOS.

Polycystic ovarian syndrome (PCOS) is a condition in which a woman’s levels of the sex hormones estrogen and progesterone are out of balance. This leads to the growth of ovarian cysts (benign masses on the ovaries). PCOS can cause problems with a women’s menstrual cycle, fertility, cardiac function, and appearance.

Hormonal imbalance

  • The sex hormones get out of balance. Normally, the ovaries make a tiny amount of male sex hormones (androgens). In PCOS, they start making slightly more androgens. This may cause you to stop ovulating, get acne, and grow extra facial and body hair.

  • The body may have a problem using insulin, called insulin resistance. When the body doesn't use insulin well, blood sugar levels go up. Over time, this increases your chance of getting diabetes.

Treatment

1. Regular exercise

2. Healthy foods and weight control

3. Metformin

My PCOS Fight Plan

I was diagnosed with PCOS a couple of years ago, but didn't take it too seriously. It wasn't until last year when I became alarmingly aware that I need to take my condition seriously if I want to conceive in the (near) future.

My gyn suggested a healthy lifestyle change, which I am leading anyway, but need to be more careful about what I eat.

Sugar is COMPLETELY BANNED, which was a big shock for me at the beginning as I used to indulge in an occasional ice cream, cupcake, or pancake... No more of that!! It was particularly hard during holidays, but I endured! It is very important to be disciplined, because you can make a big difference if you're obedient to all the goal you've set.

Chrono diet is a great way you can eat all the nutrients you need, and don't starve yourself, because that is something you do not need with PCOS.

I started eating little, in smaller intervals, so I am never hungry, but never overeat.

My next post is going to be about 15 Super-Foods to fight PCOS, and you can read more about it in this great post.

Living with PCOS can be very frustrating, as results may come in a later time than expected, but you just HAVE TO BE PATIENT. You hold the keys to your health, and you can make it work!!!

This blog will from now on be dedicated to fighting PCOS and empowering women who have PCOS because I believe it's easier to live in peace, harmony and understanding, where we become familiar with our bodies and accept each other the way we are...only then can we be cured.

Join me in my fight against PCOS and support my blog where I will share tips for living with PCOS and tips on how to get pregnant with PCOS.

WE CAN DO THIS!

Do you suffer from PCOS? What do you take as a treatment?

bottom of page